//
you're reading...
Face, Hair, Home, Lips, Sample Box

August Natural Voxbox

One of the songs from childhood that has always stuck in my head is “My Favorite Things” from The Sound of Music. And one of the items Maria listed never did make much sense to me as a child. Brown paper packages tied up with strings. Doesn’t it sound boring? What’s wrong with gaily wrapped presents? It’s not until recently that I started ordering and receiving stuff online, and have them sent to me in brown boxes that I understood. Somehow, the drabness of the brown packaging highlights the anticipation of tearing it open to find the treasures within.

And this week, one of the boxes I received and got to tear into definitely made it to the top highlight of my week.

It’s Influenster’s August Natural Green Voxbox! I was very excited to be picked to receive the Natural Voxbox. I’ve been trying to switch to using as many green and eco-friendly products as I could, and getting to try out the products in these boxes will help so much. And the box is truly amazing. All the products in it came in really big sizes; I think they were all full size. For a box that comes totally free, that’s incredible! Considering that I’ve been paying for sample boxes recently that contains products that are way smaller, I think that’s really very generous of Influenster. The husband almost did not believe me when he saw the box and I told him it was free.

So for the next few days, I enjoyed trying out all the products, and I have to say, I am pleasantly surprised to find that I really liked most of them. Below are individual reviews of all the items.

Derma E – Very Clear Problem Skin Cleanser

I’m really happy to receive this because I’ve been suffering from a run of breakouts recently. I’m not sure why, but at the age of 30, suddenly I’m going through the acne-prone phase that I skipped as a teen. It’s gotten so bad that even the husband noticed and he even flat-out pointed at this huge zit near my nose and laughed the other day. Hmph! Thus, a cleanser specifically aimed at preventing breakouts is good news indeed.

Having only used it a couple of times, I can’t exactly testify to how good this cleanser is at preventing breakouts, but I can definitely smell the tea-tree oil when I used it. I love that the cleanser feels like a lotion going on, smooth as silk.  And there’s a cooling sensation, like applying peppermint, which is very welcome after a workout or in the summer heat. The only con would be the cap. I had some difficulty getting the cleanser out, I would prefer a tube instead of the current  bottle packaging, although it does looks cool sitting on my bathroom sink.

Juice Beauty Conditioning Lip Color

Firstly, I really like the packaging – very sleek design! It reminded me of a lip tint I used to love as a girl, but cooler. This lipstick/balm does exactly what it says it’ll do, it’s amazingly moisturizing and it adds a very natural pop of color to the lips. The color is very pigmented and not sheer like many lip balms/glosses, so much so I would say it’s really a lipstick. But the color isn’t in-your-face, for me, the color appears almost like my natural lip color, just much prettier. This product really wins for me.

Jason Natural Pure Natural Aloe Vera Hand Soap

I’m happy to get this in the box, because our hand soap just happens to be running out. (:P) I like that this is full size and it sits very nicely next to our kitchen sink. I tend towards green cleaning products and was using Method’s hand soap previously. I haven’t heard about this particular brand, but it does the job well and is a good replacement.

Wen Sweet Almond Mint Cleansing Conditioner

I am amazed by this product!  As I  mentioned before, I have very fine hair that tangles very easily. Usually after showering, I’ll let my hair air dry naturally and I’ll always end up with a tangled mess that I have to work through with a hair oil or treatment of some kind. It’ll take me 5-10 minutes to end up with some semblance of hair sanity. However, after using Wen Cleansing Conditioner, I can feel the difference even when I’m rinsing my hair. It really feels silky smooth. I also don’t see the hair loss I usually see when I use conditioner. I may use this product for life.

The Natural Dentist Antigingivitis Rinse

I don’t usually use mouth rinse, and a good thing about these voxboxes is that it makes me try out products I usually won’t take a second look at. I’m glad it makes me more hygienic mouth-wise though, and also happy it’s such a big size so the husband and I can use it for a long while.

I also received two food items in the box, a snack bar and a bag of tortilla chips. Because I don’t really like those snacks, I gave them to my husband to try and he wrote the following reviews.

Probar Halo Snack Bar

I love chocolate but my wife won’t let me eat those unhealthy candy such as Kit Kat you see in supermarkets. I came home today and she handed me this health bar and asked me to eat it. Imagine my surprise when I ripped open the packet to see a chocolate colored bar. It was really chocolate when I bit into it. Soft, chewy, moist, but not too sticky. I could taste the various healthy nutty and grainy ingredients just from eating and chewing, and instantly felt healthier as I swallowed the first mouthful. It was like an oatmeal raisin cookie, only better, more flavorful, and with chocolate. After satisfyingly finishing the last morsel, I read the packaging and was pleased to learn that this yummy bar contains only 160 calories, and is made from organic ingredients. I am happy that there is something chocolate and healthy enough that my wife would permit me to east. As aptly described on this packet, the Rocky Road bar is indeed “the Sinfully Healthy Snack”.

Food Should Taste Good Tortilla Chips

These hexagonally shaped chips are large enough and not too flaky or fragile to dip into or scoop up sauces. First I tried them plain, and they were sufficiently tasty on their own, baked crispy but not too dry, with a little hint of salt. I didn’t have any dipping sauces or salsa at home, so I ate them with some vanilla yoghurt and cottage cheese. The combination tasted surprisingly good, and proved to be a healthy light snack.

And that concludes the August Natural Voxbox. There’s supposed to be a Avalon Organics Lip Balm as well, but that was missing in the my box.

Out of this box, I would say that Wen’s Cleansing Conditioner is definitely an incredible find. It will radically change my hair routine and it’s unbelievable how silky and manageable my hair is after using it. It ranks way up there. Juice Beauty Conditioning Lip Color comes in a far second; it’s a nice lipstick/balm combination.

I think I’m really lucky to get picked for the August Voxbox and I really enjoyed using all these products. It made for a very happy week!

Update: I emailed VoxBox that the Avalon Organics Lip Balm was missing from my box, they replied with an apology and I thought that was that. However, I arrived home to a surprise package today that contained the Avalon Organics Lip Balm! I’m amazed at the wonderful customer service. I honestly feel that Influenster is not obliged to send me the lip balm at all. This shows great sincerity on their part of really trying to get honest reviews on all the products they send out. So here’s my review on the lip balm

Avalon Organics Lip Balm in Cherry Aloe

As I mentioned in my previous review, I own an uncountable number of lip balms. I’ve previously received organic lip balms from the Eco Emi sample box and I also purchased Pangea’s Ecocentric lip balm, not to mention the eos lip balms that currently rank top of my list. Having tried Avalon Organics Lip Balm, I have to say it doesn’t wow me.It is moisturizing, but I find Pangea’s lip balm last longer and feels more moisturizing. The packaging is normal and doesn’t stand out. The cherry scent is indeed significant, but I actually don’t like cherry scents so that doesn’t impress me. I would say that it does the job, which is well and good. The fact that it’s organic gives it points, but it isn’t better then the other organic lip balms out there.

Still, I have to say I’m seriously impressed with Influenster!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

