//
you're reading...
Face

Spring Day Skincare Routine

Recently the weather has been getting steadily warmer, and I’m starting to see pretty blooms everywhere. And this all means one thing – spring is finally coming to the Bay area!

With the arrival of the warmer weather, it also means it’s time to change up my skincare routine. I tend to switch up my skincare routine according to climate and seasons, partly because it’s usually necessary, and partly because I get bored using the same stuff.

This past winter, we did a move and my skin felt quite dehydrated, perhaps because I was feeling a little stressed. So I was basically using a thick creamy moisturizer day and night, and doing hydrating masks every week. Now that the season has changed and I’m no longer seeing peeling and flaky skin, I want something different. I played around a little with various products and recently came up with a day skincare routine that works perfectly for me. And here are the products.

Caudalie Vinoperfect Day Perfecting Fluid, Nuxe Dry Oil, and Jour Luminizing Moisture Tint.

And here are swatches of all three.

I received the two deluxe samples of moisture tint recently. The first is Caudalie Vinoperfect Day Perfecting Fluid SPF 15 PA++ from Sephora, the second is Jouer Luminizing Moisture Tint from my Feb Birchbox. It has SPF 20.

Tinted moisturizers are something I used to avoid because I just feel that anything with a tint should be called a foundation. After all, you are putting color on your face. I tend to avoid foundation because I feel that it clogs my pores and causes breakouts. Also, it may be a mentality thing, but I never feel that they are moisturizing enough. Even when I use BB creams, which is supposedly moisturizing, I always used them on top of a moisturizer.

However, as I was in the mood for a change, I decided to give these moisture tints a try, and it’s a good thing too, because they are nothing like the pores-clogging moisture tints I remember from the past. I really loved both moisture tints.

Caudalie Vinoperfect Day Perfecting Fluid is a very light moisturizer and I find that it evens out my skintone very nicely but a natural look. Jouer has more coverage, which is good on days when I wake up with blotchy skin. And it truly gives my face a nice glow. Both of them are oil-free and light on my face. When I say light, I mean it in a “airy, almost non-existent, I can’t feel like I’m wearing anything BUT my face feel hydrated and baby soft like I’m sixteen without acne, OMG what is this!” way.

Because I still cannot get over my idiotic quirk that moisture tints are not enough, I wear them over a facial oil – to be specific, Nuxe Prodigieuse Multi-Usage Dry Oil. I really got into using facial oils awhile back and will be doing a review of them soon. I switch around between the oils, but I have to say Nuxe Oil is my favorite and it’s the one I come back to most often. The main reason is the scent, it smells absolutely amazing. Also, Nuxe Oil is a very light oil, it’s not as heavy as argan oil or jojoba oil. So it doesn’t feel heavy with another layer of moisturizer.

And thus this is my skincare routine now in the day. I smooth a few drops of Nuxe Oil over my face, inhaling in the lovely scent, after which I apply a layer of either the Caudalie Fluid or the Jour Moisture tint, depending of what kind of day it is. The fact that both moisture tints are oil-free makes it so that even with two moisturizing layers, my face still feels really light, almost like I’m not wearing anything. But it feels very hydrated. And I love that both moisture tints have SPF so I feel protected in the sunny weather we’ve been getting lately. It is a very refreshing change from the cream moisturizer + extra layer of sunscreen routine I was doing in December and January.

I glad to have (re)discover moisture tints, because this routine is really perfect for the sunny February spring weather here!

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Spring Day Skincare Routine

  1. Where do you find the Nuxe dry oil?
    Cost?

    Posted by Nina Ino | March 1, 2012, 1:32 pm
  2. It’s awesome to pay a visit this site and reading the views of all friends on the topic of this piece of writing, while I am also eager of getting knowledge.

    Posted by Candelaria | March 22, 2013, 3:08 pm
  3. Sweet blog! I found it while browsing on Yahoo News.
    Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News? I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Thanks

    Posted by http://camieshank.wikispaces.com | March 29, 2013, 9:11 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

