//
you're reading...
Eyes

Wei Tibetan Chrysanthemum correcting eye treatment pads

They say that eyes are the windows of the soul. I’m not exactly sure how much I believe that line, but I do know that for me, the first thing I notice when I meet a new person is the eyes. Perhaps it’s because I’ve never really been very happy with mine, or perhaps I do think that the eyes say a lot of a person. You know how some people smile, but the smile never makes it up to their eyes? I like people that smile with their eyes.

I’m rambling.

The point of the above ramble is, eyes are the most important part of the facial feature for me. I’ve previously mentioned that my eyes are my make-up obsession. I belong to the school that believes the canvas is the most important part of make-up. Hence my investment in eye creams and frequent splurges on eye masks.

For some reason, I’m willing to fork out a whole lot more of cash for eye masks than I am for facial masks even though facial masks cover a lot more area.  But I’m a great believer in masks and eyes are the most important feature for me, so I guess if you want results, you have to pay for it.

I always have at least one high-end eye mask in circulation and I do at least one eye mask per week.

My most recent splurge is Wei Tibetan Chrysanthemum correcting eye treatment pads. A box cost $60 for 10 sets of eye masks, making each packet of mask a cool $6. That’s definitely more than I usually spend in terms of skincare. But I think of it as an investment. The areas around the eyes are more delicate and prone to crow’s feet and wrinkles. The skin is thinner. I stay up nights stare at screens all day and get puffy dark eye circles. The eyes take abuse from me and deserve a little pampering. Your eyes will be with you for the rest of your life, for better or for worse. It’ll be a lot nicer if it’s for better. The superior the product I use, the longer I’ll look good and young. It’s all worth it in terms of health and looks. Or so I brainwash myself.

There are good eye masks and not-so-good eye masks. I would say Wei falls under the good category.

I like how big the eye pads are and the fact that it covers the entire eye area. They are pretty big-sized, as you can see in the photo, they are almost the size of my hand. Most eye masks I try only cover the under eye area, but Wei covers the entire eye – making it necessary for one to really lie down and rest for at least 15-20 minutes as well, something that’s probably good for you too. Especially if you are like me and rarely take your eyes off the screen, which is NOT GOOD FOR EYES.

The masks feel cool upon application, and there’s a strong herbal scent to it. Some people might not like it, but I don’t mind it. I find it strange that there isn’t a chrysanthemum scent though. The eye pads are pre-soaked in the essence. Instructions state to leave the mask on for 15 minutes. I like to leave it on a little longer, usually around 20 minutes. I also like to pat the remaining essence in the packets on my face afterwards, sort of like a serum or toner.

There might be people that prefer sticking to the age-old formula of cucumber slices and cooled-tea-bags. And hey, I do those too. I also buy eye masks that are $2 a packet for occasional use. But I do believe in investing in these expensive-like-hell eye masks and using them religiously. Because when it comes to my eyes, I don’t like to take chances.

And I do think they work. For all the abuse it gets, the late nights, the hours in front of the screen, I do think my eyes aren’t as puffy and dark as they probably should be.

Is it expensive? You are darn right it is.

Is it worth it? Well, it is for me.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Wei Tibetan Chrysanthemum correcting eye treatment pads

  1. Do you know of anywhere to get a sample of these? I am, likewise, willing to splurge on my eyes a bit but not usually without trying it at sephora or from birchbox first.

    Posted by Melissa | May 19, 2012, 6:52 am
  2. Space NK sells Wei!

    Posted by Victoria | September 25, 2012, 6:24 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

