//
you're reading...
Food - Recipes

Truvía® natural sweetener Product Review

I received the Truvía® natural sweetener (www.truvia.com) complimentary to test through Influenster’s VoxBox program.

According to Truvia’s website, truvia sweetener is made from a stevia leaf extract, and it contains less calories than sugar. I tried it with a packet of Stash tea and it did sweeten the tea significantly. However, I usually prefer using raw honey with my tea. I didn’t know what to do with my remaining packets, until I discovered that truvia’s website also contains tons of recipes using the sweetener (truivia.com/recipes). I never thought of using sweeteners in recipes before, so that’s a refreshing thought. I browsed through the recipes and found one for making Apple Crisp.

Apple Crisp used to be a favorite of mine – it’s very easy to make and delicious. I made it for pot lucks and parties all the time back when I was living in Philadelphia. However, the amount of sugar and butter used is very daunting – the idea of eating so much sugar in one sitting, I can just imagine my arteries clogging up with every mouthful. If I can replace the sugar with the sweetener, perhaps I can enjoy this dish without feeling quite so guilty.

According to the website, the recipe for the Apple Crisp with Truvia sweetener is about 180 calories. I tweaked it a little though, for example, I didn’t add any sweetener nor sugar to the filling, I thought the apples were sweet enough. I also used crushed nuts instead of oats. So I’m not sure if my recipe has more calories or less? Anyhow, here’s the recipe:

Filling:

4 apples, sliced

2 tsp ground cinnamon

Crisp:

1 cup crushed nuts

5 packets of Truvia sweetener

Half cup flour

3 tsp ground cinnamon

Quarter cup melted butter

Half tsp Himalayan Pink Salt

Steps:

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees
  2. Spray the baking pan/plate with non-stick cooking spray. Lay out the sliced apples and sprinkle with cinnamon.
  3. Mix the ingredients of the crisp together until they form a crumbly mixture.
  4. Sprinkle the mixture on top of the apples until they cover the entire pan/plate
  5. Bake for 35-50 minutes, depending on how large your pan is. Mine took about 50 minutes.
  6. Serve when hot. A good tip would be to serve with vanilla ice-cream.

Here’s a before baking photo:

And here’s an after photo:

I’m not sure about others, but I couldn’t tell the difference between the sweetener and sugar, the apple crisp turned out as sweet and crunchy as it was when I used sugar instead of sweetener. The husband certainly could tell either, he finish three quarters of the plate in one sitting!

About Yilise

clearskiespup.wordpress.com

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

